Tags

, ,

So getting in shape for OCS has been no small challenge.  What has been the hardest, in fact, is being told I have to get in shape and actually complying with this order.  Lord knows I do not like doing what people tell me to do.  This little personality trait is so conspicuous that a LOT of people have expressed the desire to be a fly-on-the-wall at OCS just to experience the satisfaction at seeing me get yelled at and ordered around.  An ex-boyfriend flat out told me that I won’t thrive in the Navy since I do not take orders well…but he didn’t realize that I just didn’t take orders well from him.  (Maybe if he was paying back my student loans while we were dating, I would have been more willing to ask how high and all that.)  Truth be told, one of the reasons I most resist being told that I need to do a bunch of stuff before I even arrive at OCS is that I don’t feel like I should bother spending extra time doing what will be (essentially) my job over the next 12 weeks.  I mean that’s why I am going to OCS–to develop myself physically, mentally, and morally (that’s a list directly from the OCS gouge.  I personally question the assumption that my morals or my mentals need developing).  Why spend my time now working out when I have other more important stuff to do?

Anyway, back to getting in shape, or PT in Naval terms.  I fought with myself about pursuing physical fitness before I got there but deciding I had better go for it.  Partly this was inspired by my April 2014 trip to England, and after 2.5 weeks of eating and drinking in obscene decadence, I definitely needed to do some kind of physical exercise (or suffer gout).  Since it was recommended that I start a regime of running, or at least swimming, and doing push ups, I obviously dispensed with that advice and joined the hot yoga studio.  I do swim and used to swim laps for many years, but I figured the yoga would work my upper body better.  And this has turned out to be true.  When I started HY a few months ago, I couldn’t do a full regulation push up.  Well I could (do one, and one only), but I couldn’t do a yoga push up, which is bit more difficult, since your elbows are kept close in to the body. I didn’t have the strength for that.  Honestly, the little girl photo I have on my about me page grew up to be 5’8″ and built like a prepubescent boy.  I have twig-like arms made for playing Game Boy, not doing push ups.  But HY whipped me into shape.  Seriously, it is intense.  They crank it up to 105℉ in the studio and work you like at the end of the class your baby will be born.  Just making it through a class alive feels like a significant achievement.  So you can imagine I felt like Captain America, when, a number of weeks ago, I discovered I could do high-to-low plank one-legged.  You heard me:  one-legged vinyasas!! Ohhh nelly!  I’m a beast!

So let’s see how I measure up to the minimum PT standards for OCS.  Again, I refer to the OCS gouge.

For women, comfortably run a 12 minute mile and a half, 30 push-ups, and 40 curl-ups.

Oh dear god.  30 push ups.  A 12 minute mile and a half.  Oh.  I am going to be in a world of hurt.

Further research:  Steroids.

