Today this arrived:

Get to work!

I know this book is on everyone’s summer reading list.  Now it’s on mine!  I’ve just taken a little skim of The Archaeology of Kinship and my heart got a-pounding at pp. 240-241, where the sections “Gila Butte-Sacaton Phase Craft Production and Exchange” and “The Gila Butte Phase” caught my eye.  I only wish these sections were on page 1!  I don’t want to wait 239 pages to get here!

I shouldn’t complain–I asked to review it.  I actually like doing book reviews.  I get to read interesting things, write about it, and the reviews normally get minimal edits, so they are off my plate rather quickly.  Plus the last time I reviewed something for the AJA I was a year late, and the editors were incredibly kind about it.  So kind, they let me do another review.  Thank you, editors.

One of the reasons I thought I would ask for this book to review (and figured I’d get it, as the review is for the AJA, and the subtitle includes the words “interpretation” and “contributions to theory”, so Lord knows there wasn’t going to be a long line for it ha ha ha!) is I thought it would be a nice way to kickstart academic writing again once I get out of OCS in early October.  You see, this book review isn’t my only work in prep.  I actually signed a book contract this year to write a book.  Not much of the book has thus far been written (mainly I have written a title for the volume, which needs work, since I hate it), but I have thought about writing it.  And…I spent the advance they sent.  That’s all gone.  Technically my manuscript for the book is due at the end of 2014, but let’s not think about that.  And technically I have a book chapter (or wait is it 2 chapters?), an edited volume, and a journal article to complete that are ahead in line of the book.  And in October is when I join CONTROL aka Maxwell Smart aka Naval Intelligence training or whatever, but never mind all that!  Taking on this book to review was all part of my strategy.  I’m sure I will have plenty of time to write at CONTROL.

Further research: I could actually start reading The Archaeology of Kinship…or I could pfaff about on Twitter.

